I Wanted to Write Something About War.

T. Mark Mangum
2 min readDec 19, 2023
Photo by Robert Ruggiero on Unsplash

The problem is, I with all my heart and soul want to write fantasy fiction tales.

Real life sucks.

People, groups of people, nations, and organizations, do evil things and then attempt to justify their actions based on some notion of a special circumstance that makes their evil ok.

So I will just hit the basics. These are the things I try to teach my children. It is amazing that it is a childhood lesson that many adults seem too stupid to understand.

Yes I said “many adults seem too stupid”, sorry if that offends you. If it offends you it probably means you are one of the stupid adults of which I speak.

Here it is.

It is wrong to hit another person. It is wrong to steal from others. It is wrong to deliberately be mean (be a bully).

These simple statements translate perfectly as rules that apply to individuals, families, groups of people with common interests, governments, and nations as it pertains to their behavior towards others.

These simple rules don’t change based on the behavior or a person a day ago, ten years ago or two thousand years ago.

Continuing with basic rules.

--

--

T. Mark Mangum

For the serious reader. Short, compelling fiction for the serious reader. I use Imagination, wonder, and surprise to create my tales. Please Enjoy reading them.